Akron School holds ribbon cutting ceremony

The ribbon cutting for the new school was held at 3 p.m., Saturday, August 25. Between 125-150 people were present to witness the momentous occasion. Superintendent Bryce Monasmith read a long list of thank yous to everyone who made the new school a reality, especially to the voters who voted for the bond issue. The Akron Chamber of Commerce provided cookies and drinks for everyone in attendance. The school also had candy bars, provided by Akron Hardware, with a picture of the new school on the wrapper. Maps were available, and almost everyone took a tour of the new school after the ribbon cutting. Shown in the photo, left to right, are: Commissioner Lea Ann Laybourn; Mayor of Akron, George Reese; past school board member, Gisele Jefferson; present school board members, Alan Carman and Woody Woods; Akron Chamber of Commerce President, Marcia Bowland; present school board member, Jim Pieper; Business Director of Akron School District, Kim Krause; present school board member, Kyle Dorrenbacher, and past school members, Jim McKay and Randy Arnold.